Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last Thursday, as soon as 530pm struck, I was out of the office in a flash – more than ready to begin my first three day weekend as a working girl. When Sunday evening crept upon me, all I could muster up the energy to do was curl into a ball on my bed and wish for time to rewind 72 hours. Sadly, that was not an option – where was Bill Nighy when I needed him?*

Little did I know that the day I organised (weeks in advance) off work – in aid of a late birthday brunch and a much-needed shopping trip – would coincide with Britain’s newest (and maddest) ‘holiday’, Black Friday. I don’t know about you but until this year I was unaware that this had become a thing for us Brits. Though eyebrows were raised when I announced I would brace London’s West End last Friday, I thought it was perfect timing.

Leah and I (you may remember her from our New York adventures, read here and here) share birthdays just a few days apart and so we had planned a belated treat: brunch at the Wolseley. Just a minutes walk from Green Park tube station, The Wolseley is an experience – a particularly fancy one.

 

The food was good. It wasn’t anything inspiring but I think (and had heard prior to our visit) it is all about the atmosphere – chandelier lighting, bathroom attendants, waiters in tails and all that. When two women obliviously waltzed in and sat straight down with no reservation, we overheard and were extremely amused by a waiter muttering “this is not McDonalds”.

The service couldn’t be faulted and after ordering cappuccino’s, bircher muesli to share and two lots of poached eggs with various sides, the bill was a little over £30. Not bad at all!

When our food had settled in our full-to-the-brim belly’s, we ventured to our second stop of the day: Selfridges shoe department.

Of course we paused en route for a few outfit snaps.

 

Pink Coat: River Island (similar here) / Jamie Jeans: Topshop / Shoes: Converse / Jumper: Gap (just £20 in the pre Black Friday sale!) / Bag: Topshop

From Selfridges we headed to Oxford Circus where we stopped off at Topshop, & Other Stories, Zara and Office. By 4 o’clock we were exhausted. Satisfied by a couple of our Black Friday bargains (my favourite being a pair of hologram heels from Office reduced from £60 to £40), burdened with bags and ready to strangle the next person that barged their way past us, we headed for the tube.

Not a bad days work, I thought.

*About Time reference. If you haven’t seen it, you must.

