Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I am by no definition a baker.

If ever I am found in the kitchen while something sweet is cooking, I will be the one digging a spoon into the tasty raw mixture until I feel sick. Two years ago, instead of a birthday cake, I was greeted by a pot of Betty Crocker icing with a candle shoved into it.

I was delighted.

On Monday at work we had a special breakfast. I offered to bake muffins because a) I panicked and it was the first thing that popped into my head, and b) I thought that should I be successful, it would be a great recipe to share with you! 

Luckily, they were delicious.

As weekends are always full of indulgence, I wanted to provide a healthy choice on what I like to call “detox Mondays”. So, taking inspiration from several recipes, I made (almost) guilt-free banana muffins. I say almost because I used chocolate cooking drops but I promise the rest of the ingredients absolutely fit under the lighter option category. And hey? What’s a couple of chocolate drops in a whole muffin of goodness! But, if you are trying to be really really really good, I have suggested several alternatives to chocolate below!

Ingredients (makes 12): 

  • 2 cups spelt flour
  • 3.5 large bananas
  • 1.5 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk (melted)
  • 1.5 cups greek yoghurt
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 80G Chocolate cooking drops (I used these but feel free to replace with cacao/dark chocolate/blueberries)
  • 1.5 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 12 generous teaspoons of peanut butter

Method:

Preheat oven to 180 degrees.

Mash 2 and a half bananas into a large bowl and add almond milk, greek yoghurt, honey and vanilla extract. Melt the coconut oil on a medium heat and set it aside to cool. In a separate bowl pour all the dry ingredients: spelt flour, cinnamon and baking soda.

Stir the coconut oil into the first bowl (the one with the banana/almond milk etc) and combine both bowls into one. Gently stir together all the ingredients. Chop the chocolate cooking drops into small chunks and add to the mixture.

Give it one final big stir.

Grease the baking tray well and share out the mixture evenly – I recommend one generous tablespoon per muffin. Put in the oven for approximately 25 minutes or until a fork can prod the muffin and come out clean.

Once cool (approx 20 minutes), dollop a teaspoon of peanut butter onto each muffin. Chop up the last banana and press one slice on each muffin like below.

Snap a photo, tag @quirkychickenblog, then serve and enjoy these scrumptious treats!

Happy Friday! 

