Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hello!

I must first say sorry for not posting a blog on Sunday. During a very busy weekend, I completely forgot to schedule a post for you lovely followers! My weekend flew by so fast that I even forgot to buy a Mother’s Day gift. Though admittedly, it was my Mums birthday the previous Monday and we spoiled her rotten with a vintage necklace from Susan Caplan so she couldn’t complain too much!

(I absolutely recommend you check out the Susan Caplan website for all things pretty and vintage) 

That said, I did feel guilty when I woke up on Sunday morning with no blog post in the pipeline nor something special for my Mum. So, I got busy in the kitchen making these delicious “I’m sorry” treats!

My Mum was thrilled to arrive home from her gym workout to find them waiting for her and I hope you’ll accept this apology too!

These yummy bars are suitable for any time of the day. They are a great sugar free alternative to unhealthy snacks and can be easily thrown together without needing too many ingredients. I am not exaggerating when I say they lasted no longer than a few hours sitting in my kitchen – there have already been demands for another batch.

Ingredients

150g porridge Oats

100g Spelt flour

Tablespoon of coconut oil

50g pumpkin seeds

8 mejadol dates

1 egg

Handful of cranberries/raisins

3 very ripe bananas

pinch of salt

tablespoon water

½ cup almond milk

Method

Pre heat oven to 180

Over a light heat, melt the coconut oil and the dates until soft and gooey. Blend with a tablespoon of water until a smooth paste forms. Set aside. Mix oats, spelt flour and pumpkin seeds in a bowl. In a separate bowl, mash the bananas, add the egg, the blended dates, the almond milk and the cranberries. Combine both bowls of ingredients and stir together well. Pour the mixture into a greaseproof baking tray and place in the oven for 20-25 minutes – I like the bars a little gooey so I left them in for 20 minutes but golden brown and firm is also good too!

Once cooled, slice, remove from the tin and devour – you will want to!

Have a lovely week and you’ll hear from me Sunday! xx

