Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a successful shopping spree begins with a hearty lunch.

(Perhaps not, but it should be)

Feeling in the mood to bag ourselves some Summer-steals, this weekend Phoebe, Gussie and I headed to London’s Oxford Street. We booked lunch at Riding House Cafe – a conveniently located spot near Oxford Circus with a very rustic meets vintage kinda vibe.

I started with the Yellow Jersey Smoothie (made with banana, pineapple, almond milk, yoghurt, vanilla), which was delicious but sadly not picture worthy. Gussie’s Virgin Fitzrovia Breeze was the clear winning drink. Sweetly refreshing, its illuminating kiwi tinted colour brightened up the table!

The chorizo hash brown caught my eye. Served with mushroom and a perfect poached egg, I was in foodie heaven – and then minutes later a food coma. Its spicy kick, generous amount of chorizo and crispiness very happily satisfied my previously grumbling tummy!

Gussie chose the Buttermilk Pancakes

Hearing her rave upon first taste, we all tucked in for a forkful too! Riding House Cafe pancakes are melt-in-your-mouth yummy and should I find myself returning, I will be diving straight into those!

Phoebe had a small nightmare with her meal. Having first ordered the carrot and quinoa salad (pictured above and which came very very spicy), she swapped to the eggs florentine. While the eggs were perfectly runny, they lacked that eggstra special ‘wow factor’.

Not so crackin’ 

The rest of the day was spent in my favourite Topshop eyeing up all the pretty things I’ll be purchasing when pay day rolls around –  there are some real must-have treats!

xxxx 

