Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

baked eggs brunch

If you’ve been following the blog for a while now (or my instagram account), you’ll be fully aware of my growing love affair with brunch. I’m not really sure when this relationship began, I’ve always been a breakfast person, I think its the most important meal and really sets my mood for the whole day. So when I wake up later than usual on a Saturday and a Sunday, I like to brunch.

It’s ok to use brunch as a verb right?

Though I’ve blogged a handful of my favourite brunch spots over the last six months or so, I haven’t yet shared a recipe for one of my tasty homemade brunches.

Until now!

My lovely best friend, food blogger, soon to be travelling buddy and fellow brunch lover Phoebe (found at The Fodmapper) popped over on the weekend and we whipped up one of the best brunches ever!

baked eggs brunch

Utterly delicious – I absolutely advise giving this recipe a go – it’s easy, uses simple ingredients and I promise it’s eggs-actly what a weekend brunch should be.

Ingredients: (serves 2)

  • 2 red peppers
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 1/2 cups of quinoa
  • Handful of spinach
  • A dozen cherry tomatoes
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 garlic clove
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Avocado
  • 1/2 a fresh chilli
  • lime

Method:

Preheat oven to 190 degrees.

Cut the peppers in half and remove the stalks and seeds. Drizzle all four halves with olive oil and place in the oven for 15 minutes.

Rinse the quinoa with cold water and place in a pan with 3 cups of boiling water. Bring to the boil for a couple of minutes and then turn down the heat and leave to simmer for 10-15 minutes, until all the water is absorbed and the quinoa is soft.

Once the quinoa is cooked, crush or grate the garlic and chop up the tomatoes. Heat a generous amount of olive oil in a pan, drain the quinoa and add it to the pan followed by the garlic, tomatoes and spinach. Squeeze in half the lime and give it a few big stirs. When the spinach has wilted, remove from the heat.

Stuff each of the pepper halves evenly with the quinoa using a spoon. You want the pepper to be full but not too full so that it topples over! Try to leave a small gap in the middle of the pepper or spoon out a little of the mix afterwards.

baked eggs brunch

Carefully crack an en egg into a cup and gently pour into each pepper, trying not to overflow egg. Put in the oven for 10-12 minutes so the eggs are softly baked.

In a bowl. mash the avocado with a fork, chop the chilli finely and stir together with the leftover half of the lime and a sprinkle of salt and pepper.

Once baked, remove peppers from the oven and serve with a side of fresh avocado – guacamole style!

baked eggs brunch

Dive straight in!

